Back to School. Are You Going?

“A little learning is a dangerous thing.”   —Alexander Pope

“If I’d only known then what I know now…”   —everybody, at some point

If your Facebook newsfeed is like mine, you’ve had dozens of pics in recent weeks of cute little kids starting or going back to school. Wouldn’t you like to go back? Actually, you can. And you probably should.

Colleges and universities offer more night and weekend courses every year. Whether you are seeking a graduate degree, a certificate or just the necessary information to stay competitive, options are numerous. Online courses allow great flexibility. I’m looking at taking a couple of one-day, all day sessions soon at my neighborhood community college.

Even if you don’t have the time or inclination to seek formal education, keep your eyes and ears open for seminars and conferences that present useful information. Some programs will be industry-specific, but you may discover takeaways that are universal.

These events are, in most cases, reasonably priced. I always feel that if I can leave a conference or seminar with a handful of actionable suggestions that I can try out right away, I’m happy.

For me, the best reasons to learn are related to my MacBook (and my other screens). Even the best software programs are not always mastered intuitively. Online tutorials can be unclear or ambiguous. You may not be able to completely get Excel or InDesign in one long class at your local community college or high school, but any training you get can help you open other doors. An “Ah-ha!” moment can save you much time and effort in the long run.

In many cases, your best bet may be a tech savvy teen who can help you along. I’m serious. My younger kids have taught me a lot that applies to my work on my computer. Happily, most of it has been shared without a condescending attitude.

It’s vital to keep learning to keep up. What do you want to learn?

Leave a Reply

