What I Am Thankful For

As Thanksgiving, 2012, approaches, I am thankful for all the people who have helped me in my career. I have many in my distant past and several in my recent past. These are people who have given me direction, guidance, criticism, encouragement and appreciation.

I am thankful for people who hired me mainly because of my enthusiasm and potential, as well as those who thought I had skills and talent. I am thankful for those who offered career advice, some of which was followed.

I am thankful for people who have new information about the things I love, who are eager and willing to share that information. Those things I love include communication, traditional media, new media and content creation—general interactivity with other humans.

I am thankful for the technology we enjoy in our lives in 2012 which allows me to work more efficiently and productively than before. Witnessing the advances in computer and mobile device hardware and software helps me put similar earlier technology advances in perspective. I think sometimes about how huge a deal radio was for my grandparents and what a miracle TV was for my parents.

I am thankful for the opportunities to try new things, to go down different paths, to have “aha!” moments, to be surprised and impressed by the creativity of others.

I am thankful for the desire to see what each new day has to offer. To begin each day with optimism and confidence is a good thing, even when skies are cloudy and gray. (I am also thankful for the people who grow, ship and roast coffee for the added push on mornings when I really need it.)

I am thankful, of course, for my family and the happiness they bring me every day.

I am thankful that my joie de vivre endures despite the fact that things do not always go as hoped and planned. As the movie title says, it is a wonderful life. I am thankful for all I have enjoyed so far and am curious to see what is beyond the next horizon.

I wish you a Happy Thanksgiving. (Next post on November 26, 2012.)

One thought on “What I Am Thankful For

  1. Sean J says:

    Excellent, inspiring post, David. Thanks for sharing it and here’s hoping you have a Happy Thanksgiving too!

Leave a Reply

